2017 Challenge Judges

Meet the panel who judged the 2017 C-Prize Challenge.

Nick Astwick

CEO, Southern Cross Health Society

Nick Astwick is the Chief Executive Officer of the Southern Cross Health Society. As a former COO of Kiwibank, he has more than 20 years’ experience in financial services. Nick was one of the Kiwibank team behind the Kiwibank FinTech Accelerator, a three-month business growth programme in the financial technology sector. 

Mark Finch

Founder and CTO, IMeasureU

Mark Finch is an inventor, with a Masters in Biomedical Engineering from the University of Auckland. Mark spent the last 6 years developing core technology of I Measure U, based at the Auckland Bioengineering Institute. He attended an entrepreneurial program at Stanford University in 2010 and also spent 4 months working at MIT in Boston, working with leading experts in the field and honing his skills on sensor development. 

Suse Reynolds

Callaghan Innovation Stakeholder Advisory Group, Angel HQ, CreativeHQ

Suse Reynolds is a member of the Callaghan Innovation Stakeholder Advisory Group. She currently sits on the Board of Angel HQ and CreativeHQ, and is an enthusiastic believer in the ability of angel investment to make the world a better place. Suse was formerly the Chief Operating Officer and GM Investment at Grow Wellington and prior to that had a 10-year career at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs focussing on international trade.

Richard Snow

Managing Director/Founder, VXSport

Richard holds tertiary qualifications in both electrical engineering and business.  For the last 35 years he has worked in both the corporate and consulting sectors as an electrical engineer and technology designer.  He founded Intellex Limited in 1994 and since late 2006 Intellex has provided venture capital, design and management resources for VX Sport. 

Diana Siew 

Manager Strategic Partnerships, Auckland Bioengineering Institute, University of Auckland and Associate Director, MedTech Centre of Research Excellence

Diana has a strong innovation, research management and relationship management background in New Zealand’s medical technology sector. Diana is co-chair of the Consortium for Medical Device Technologies that sits alongside the MedTech CoRE.

chris Thomson

GM of Advanced Manufacturing, Callaghan Innovation  

Chris Thomson managed the inaugural C-Prize in 2015. He has more than 17 years’ experience in engineering and leads New Zealand's foremost experts in advanced engineering, robotics, automation, and manufacturing technology as Group Manager of Advanced Manufacturing for Callaghan Innovation.

Blythe Rees-Jones 

Judging Convenor

Blythe is a trusted internationally respected and award winning industrial designer who is passionate about delivering real-world insight driven innovation to market. Blythe’s capabilities encompass skills in many disciplines from Consumer Product, Outdoor Apparel and Sporting Equipment Design, Medical and Healthcare, to Furniture, Interior and Textile Design. Blythe has been a board member for the Designers Institute of New Zealand and is a Design Coach for New Zealand Trade & Enterprise.

What our judges were looking for

Watch the video below to hear our Judging Convenor, Blythe Rees-Jones, talk about what the judging panel were looking for in C-Prize 2017 entries.